Remember that resolution?…

It is now April (would you believe!?) and I am thinking back to my personal challenge to make things instead of buying, which I set myself at New Year.  The original inspiration for my challenge came at Christmas when I received a copy of Mollie Makes in my stocking. It was issue 9 and included a contribution from the very talented Sarai Mitnick of Colette Patterns.

I looked up Sarai’s new book The Colette Sewing Handbook and had a peek at the blog too where they were discussing their sewing goals for the year, and saw they had a regular ‘Palette Chalenge’ at Spring and Autumn. Here they would pick a few colours for the new season and some styles, and then set themselves goals to make new essentials for their wardrobe that season. So, I decided I would invest in the book myself, invest in developing my skills as a seamstress and create some new additions to my wardrobe!

Currently I am working on making the Pastille Dress which is on the front cover. It is going well so far and thanks to Sarai’s advice and my previous, invaluable, dressmaking experiences with my Mum and my Granny, I have been able to work out how to adjust it to fit my shape perfectly! I chose some blue sheeting to make a mock-up of the dress which means I can transfer my alterations onto the pattern. This will make it easier and quicker when I come to make the dress again in nice fabrics ready for summer.

I have nearly finished the dress now and will update you soon with further pictures and fabric plans!

Iona

6 thoughts on “Remember that resolution?…

  1. Good for you! I’ve also been trying to make more and buy less. It will save me a lot of money and will be very fulfilling. And good job on making a muslin ad then transferring the alterations to the paper pattern. Many people can’t do that!

    • Thank you Maddie! I’m still learning… a lot, but I have found it so fulfilling. It’s great being able to wear your own handmade things out and about, gives me that exciting ‘new’ feeling everytime!

  2. Can’t wait to see your dress!! Your challenge is such a good idea. I only know how to knit but know that I’ve seen Colette’s patterns, I want to learn! That’s just so much better than buying a dress that you’re gonna see on everyone else!!
    I’ll be waiting for your next pictures!
    Amélie

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement! Spurred on by all the comments, I have completed the dress today! Just about to put some pictures up for you now…

Leave a Reply

